Go Back   HTCPedia.com forums > Android Platform > General Android HTC Devices > HTC Magic, myTouch 3G > HTC Magic Android Development

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 12th, 2009, 02:58 AM   #1
New Member
 
My Device: T-Mobile G1
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
haykuro is infamous around these parts
Default Root your myTouch :)

Instructions are attached, please register to view them.ENJOY UNBLOCKED CONTENT!


EDIT: 2012-01-13 @ 03:04 AM
Knowledge should be free.

Knowledge is power.

Code:
EDIT: heres the original mytouch splash image for those of you that want it: http://www.filedropper.com/splash
go into fastboot,
Code:
fastboot flash splash1 splash.nb
EDIT2: sorry guys, goldcard IS necessary to do this (i was under the impression it wasn't. [i don't own a mytouch so i was just informed about this by jrbourque, the test dummy :P]) --- 1.Download & extract the latest Android SDK from Android SDK | Android Developers. Remember where you extracted it, you will need it to install the proper USB drivers for your device, and to send commands from your computer to your device when it’s in Fastboot mode (a special mode where you type commands from your computer instead of your device). 2.Set up your device for USB debugging (follow step 2 under the heading “Setting up a Device for Development” at Using Hardware Devices | Android Developers). 3.Install the proper drivers for your device, and make sure you can mount the microSD card and access it from your computer (step 3 under the heading “Setting up a Device for Development” at Using Hardware Devices | Android Developers, you will also need the extracted files from SDK for this). 4.Download the SPL 1.33.2005. http://sapphire-port-dream.googlecod...spl-signed.zip 5. Download the NBH Free File Hosting - Online Storage; Upload Mp3, Videos, Music. Backup Files 6. Download the givemeroot zip. http://stevebirstok.com/android/givemeroot.zip 7. Download this recovery image: http://rapidshare.com/files/26263536...-RAv1.2.0H.img 8.Rename the “spl-signed.zip” file to “update.zip”, and rename "sappimg_vodaphone.zip" file to "SAPPIMG.zip" 9.Place “update.zip” and "SAPPIMG.zip" on the root of your microSD card (you shouldn’t have problems if you’ve performed step 3 properly). 10. Power off device, hold VOLUME DOWN BUTTON, and power on device. It will ask you to flash, follow instructions. 11. After flashing, boot the phone normally and type (you are using Amon's recovery at this stage)
Code:
adb push recovery.img /sdcard/recovery.img
adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
adb shell reboot recovery
12. after the phone boots into recovery, scroll to apply update to flash the SPL (don't touch until it's completely finished and idling [it will read "FORMATTING CACHE.." and nothing will happen and you'll be at the recovery screen]) 13. once that's done, type
Code:
adb shell reboot bootloader
14. at this stage you are now at 1.33.2005 and you should be connected via fastboot, extract the contents of givemeroot.zip (radio and recovery image) type this:
Code:
fastboot flash radio radio.img
fastboot erase system -w
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
15. press MENU to power off! (do not reboot) 16. hold HOME and POWER to boot into recovery mode. 17. download your favorite rom (i recommend cyanogens rom to have a base and make a nandroid) then type:
Code:
adb push update.zip /sdcard/update.zip
18. apply update. 19. enjoy. (method by haykuro and dream_kill, also thx to amon_ra, and jrborque for risking his phone :P)
Attached Files
File Type: txt instructions.txt (3.2 KB, 2878 views)

Last edited by haykuro; January 13th, 2012 at 01:18 AM. Reason: freedom of knowledge
haykuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:10 AM   #2
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Dream & MT3G
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
l3wish is infamous around these parts
Default

Thanks man...!!
l3wish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:11 AM   #3
New Member
 
Six6Sicks's Avatar
 
My Device: HTC Dream (G1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Six6Sicks is infamous around these parts
Default

Awesome job Haykuro (as usual).

Does this work with 32B board?
Six6Sicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:13 AM   #4
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Magic / Dev
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Dalles, Seattle
Posts: 7
zues is infamous around these parts
Default

Excellent work Haykuro!

So after this is completed, the phone is ready to apply any compatible rom correct?
zues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:13 AM   #5
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Magic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
lesjaw is infamous around these parts
Default

How About 32A board..
at step 10, hold camera button..My Magic have no camera button..
lesjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:13 AM   #6
New Member
 
TaTo22's Avatar
 
My Device: tmobile G1 Mytouch
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MIaMI
Posts: 5
TaTo22 is infamous around these parts
Default

yessss thanks guys
TaTo22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:13 AM   #7
New Member
 
My Device: T-Mobile MyTouch3g And G1
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
AndroidAutobot is infamous around these parts
Default

Once again H, you are a god among men. Bless you!!! Figures that through all the toil everyone's been going through, you ended up being the one to crack it. MAJOR props dude!
AndroidAutobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:13 AM   #8
New Member
 
My Device: T-Mobile G1
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
haykuro is infamous around these parts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zues View Post
Excellent work Haykuro!

So after this is completed, the phone is ready to apply any compatible rom correct?
Correct should work with all roms the g1/dream is compatible with.

EDIT: of course you might want to ask rom developers to start including the magic stuff from /system/usr/key* and stuff, but that's another story.
haykuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:14 AM   #9
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Magic 32A
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
adityaw is infamous around these parts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesjaw View Post
How About 32A board..
at step 10, hold camera button..My Magic have no camera button..
Yeah, will this work for 32A board?
adityaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 03:16 AM   #10
New Member
 
My Device: T-Mobile G1
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
haykuro is infamous around these parts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adityaw View Post
Yeah, will this work for 32A board?
no camera button: use the VOLUME_DOWN+POWER method to enter hboot.
haykuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 PM.

vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1

2009-2012 htcpedia.com. All rights reserved.