Go Back   HTCPedia.com forums > Android Platform > General Android HTC Devices > HTC Desire

HTC Desire Discussion about HTC Desire, made by HTC. Anything about how-to questions, HTC Desire development, accessories, Apps, tweak, etc...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 11th, 2010, 07:07 AM   #1
VIP Member
 
behnaam's Avatar
 
My Device: HTC Elf, HTC Blackstone, HTC Hero, Acer Liquid, Nexus One, HTC Desire
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 403
behnaam is on a distinguished road
Default [HOW-TO] Downgrade HBOOT

After alot of playing around at the #modaco IRC and reading this thread I tried to actually downgrade my hboot from 0.75 to 0.66 (dont ask me how I got 0.66).

OBS! There is no reason to downgrade in case you already have hboot version 0.75 or a rooted 0.80 device

Now here are the steps I took:

1. Download a RUU with your desired HBOOT version. Note down the version of the RUU's ROM, e.g. 1.15.405.4.
You can find a list of RUU's here

2. Go to this mtd0.img CID generator

3. In the CID generator enter the ROM version you noted down and set CID to 11111111. Let it generate and download it.

4. Download flash_image binary from here and then do the following in adb while the phone is connected:
Code:
adb push /{the folder u downloaded it to}/flash_image /data
adb push /{the folder u downloaded it to}/mtd0.img /data
5. In terminal app on the phone type following:
Code:
chmod 755 /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img
Now the mainversion is changed, so that the we pass the RUU's version checking.

6. Type the following while you're device is connected to adb:
Code:
adb reboot oem-78
It will now reboot into RUU mode. OBS! dont panic, its supposed to just a image, nothing more. Make sure USB cable is connected to the device by:
Code:
fastboot devices
If it returns with a device, then you're good.

7. Run the RUU and let it work. Enjoy your downgraded HBOOT version.
__________________
ROMS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


USEFUL THREADS & GUIDES

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Like my work?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Follow me on

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by behnaam; June 30th, 2010 at 06:51 AM.
behnaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old June 18th, 2010, 11:27 AM   #2
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Desire
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
johnnydisco is infamous around these parts
Default Trouble downgrading 0.80

Hi,

I am following your guide but at this stage:

chmod u+x /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img

I get an error saying bad mode.. I have tried su then the command and get a permission denied error..

Help!

Thanks,
Johnny
johnnydisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 07:13 PM   #3
VIP Member
 
behnaam's Avatar
 
My Device: HTC Elf, HTC Blackstone, HTC Hero, Acer Liquid, Nexus One, HTC Desire
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 403
behnaam is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnydisco View Post
Hi,

I am following your guide but at this stage:

chmod u+x /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img

I get an error saying bad mode.. I have tried su then the command and get a permission denied error..

Help!

Thanks,
Johnny
Try to chmod flash_image binary using this instead:
chmod 755 /data/flash_image
__________________
ROMS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


USEFUL THREADS & GUIDES

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Like my work?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Follow me on

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
behnaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 05:37 AM   #4
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Desire
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
johnnydisco is infamous around these parts
Default Downgraded HTC Desire

Thanks you so much Behnaam,

Worked a treat, phone fully restored and working A1. Really appreciate your help.

Thanks again,
Johnny
johnnydisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 08:45 AM   #5
New Member
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
pkyadav is infamous around these parts
Default

hi,
when i try 3rd step

chmod u+x /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img

it says no file of found

can u please help me for the same.
pkyadav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 08:59 AM   #6
VIP Member
 
behnaam's Avatar
 
My Device: HTC Elf, HTC Blackstone, HTC Hero, Acer Liquid, Nexus One, HTC Desire
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 403
behnaam is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkyadav View Post
hi,
when i try 3rd step

chmod u+x /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img

it says no file of found

can u please help me for the same.
Did you push the files into /data on the device?

To confirm type following in adb:
Code:
adb shell ls /data
And make sure that flash_image and mtd0.img is present there.

And instead of using:
Code:
chmod u+x /data/flash_image
use:
Code:
chmod 755 /data/flash_image
__________________
ROMS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


USEFUL THREADS & GUIDES

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Like my work?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Follow me on

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
behnaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 11:18 PM   #7
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
wrenchmonkey is infamous around these parts
Default

Being that CHMOD isn't a windows command, how would somebody do this in windows?

Isn't CHMOD a Mac terminal command?

What about Windows Command Prompt?

Last edited by behnaam; June 30th, 2010 at 06:50 AM.
wrenchmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2010, 06:50 AM   #8
VIP Member
 
behnaam's Avatar
 
My Device: HTC Elf, HTC Blackstone, HTC Hero, Acer Liquid, Nexus One, HTC Desire
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 403
behnaam is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrenchmonkey View Post
Being that CHMOD isn't a windows command, how would somebody do this in windows?

Isn't CHMOD a Mac terminal command?

What about Windows Command Prompt?
You do this inside the phones terminal app. Search for terminal in Market and you'll find it.
__________________
ROMS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


USEFUL THREADS & GUIDES

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Like my work?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Follow me on

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
behnaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2010, 07:07 PM   #9
New Member
 
My Device: HTC Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
wrenchmonkey is infamous around these parts
Default

Awesome. Thanks for the clarification.
wrenchmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2010, 03:27 AM   #10
New Member
 
My Device: HTC DESIRE
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Renz33 is infamous around these parts
Default Solution to UNroot due to bootloader error

tq so much for this method to downgrade the bootloader version. With this i can finally solve the problem a lot of us is facing to unroot back to stock rom.
Renz33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrade to 6.1 kizer8 HTC Touch Pro2 (Rhodium) 6 June 17th, 2010 07:10 AM
Downgrade to 6.1 jovanic HTC Touch HD (Blackstone) 11 May 6th, 2010 12:56 PM
How To Downgrade the Official Hero Room for my G2? matq HTC Magic, myTouch 3G 0 November 26th, 2009 10:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.

vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1

2009-2012 htcpedia.com. All rights reserved.